what's the story with oats?
For years those with gluten intolerance or Celiac disease were instructed to eliminate oats from their diet. In itself, the oat grain does not contain gluten. However, oats are frequently grown in fields in close proximity to wheat and barley which encourages cross pollination. In addition, oats are usually processed, milled, and transported in the same equipment as wheat and barley, thus oats can become contaminated with gluten during processing.
To be able to offer gluten free oats, some farmers have started to grow oats exclusively. These oats are processed separately from other grains and remain gluten free. Based on numerous studies, the conclusion is that many with Celiac disease or those with gluten intolerance can tolerate oats when they are not contaminated. However, there are some who still react to other irritants in oats. So, it is important to check with your doctor before trying gluten free oats.
Gluten free oats can be found in many health food stores, Trader Joe, or can be ordered online.
Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Whole Grain Rolled Oats, 32 Oz
Use certified gluten free oats for these recipes
Overnight Apple Pie Oatmeal Recipe
Weight Watchers style Overnight Oatmeal Recipes
Healthy Oatmeal Breakfast Cookies
Disclaimer: The information on this blog is for educational purposes only. We are not doctors; always check with a qualified physician before making any changes in your diet. Although certified gluten free oats are considered gluten free, some individuals may still react. Check with your doctor before eating oats.
I am an affiliate for Amazon and receive a small compensation when you click and order through my blog. Thank you for helping defray the cost of running my blog.